Read This Twice
HomePeopleTop BooksMy Library 0Sign In

Natalie Portman

actor

Recommended Books

Natalie Portman is an actress and filmmaker. Prolific in film since a teenager, she has starred in blockbusters and also played psychologically troubled women in independent films, for which she has received various accolades, including an Academy Award and two Golden Globe Awards.
14 books on the list
Sort by
Recommendation Date
Layout
Lost Children Archive
A novel
by Valeria Luiselli (Feb 03, 2020)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: fictionpolitics
ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: THE WASHINGTON POST - TIME MAGAZINE - NPR - CHICAGO TRIBUNE - GQ - O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE - THE GUARDIAN - VANITY FAIR - THE ATLANTIC - THE WEEK - THE DALLAS MORNING NEWS - LIT HUB - KIRKUS REVIEWS - THE NEW YORK...
Natalie Portman
Jan 03, 2020
It’s gorgeous, poetic, inventive, and political.      source
This book is also recommended by
Barack Obama
We Are the Weather
Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast
by Jonathan Safran Foer (Sep 16, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: self-helpengineeringscience
Some people reject the fact, overwhelmingly supported by scientists, that our planet is warming because of human activity. But do those of us who accept the reality of human-caused climate change truly believe it? If we did, surely we would be roused to act on what we know. Will future generations distinguish between those who didnt believe in the ...
This book is also recommended by
Matt Haig
Royals
by Emma Forrest (Nov 13, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: fiction
July, 1981. London. Shy, working-class Steven finds solace in beauty. Eighteen years old, he dreams of being a fashion designer. He's also gay, maybe he hasn't decided yet. There's a lot Steven isn't sure about, like whether he hates himself or thinks he's amazing.When he ends up in hospital after being brutally attacked by his father, he meets Ja...
The Truth Will Set You Free, But First It Will Piss You Off!
Thoughts on Life, Love, and Rebellion
by Gloria Steinem (Oct 28, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: self-helpmotivationalmemoirfiction
A beautifully illustrated collection of Gloria Steinem's most inspirational and outrageous quotes, with an introduction and essays by the feminist activist herself.For decades--and especially now, in these times of crisis--people around the world have found guidance, humor, and unity in Gloria Steinem's gift for creating quotes that offer hope and ...
Trick Mirror
Reflections on Self-Delusion
by Jia Tolentino (Aug 05, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: humortechnologyscience
Trick Mirror is an enlightening, unforgettable trip through the river of self-delusion that surges just beneath the surface of our lives. This is a book about the incentives that shape us, and about how hard it is to see ourselves clearly in a culture that revolves around the self. In each essay, Jia writes about the cultural prisms that have shape...
This book is also recommended by
Barack ObamaSarah SpainMary Anne Hobbs
She Said
Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement
by Jodi Kantor (Sep 09, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: biographylaweconomicsreferencesociology
From the Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters who broke the news of Harvey Weinstein's sexual harassment and abuse for the New York Times, Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, the thrilling untold story of their investigation and its consequences for the #MeToo movement For many years, reporters had tried to get to the truth about Harvey Weinstein's treatment...
The Waves
by Virginia Woolf (Dec 31, 1977)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: fictionclassic
Set on the coast of England against the vivid background of the sea, The Waves introduces six charactersthree men and three womenwho are grappling with the death of a beloved friend, Percival. Instead of describing their outward expressions of grief, Virginia Woolf draws her characters from the inside, revealing them through their thoughts and inte...
Hope in the Dark
Untold Histories, Wild Possibilities
by Rebecca Solnit (Mar 14, 2016)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: sociologypoliticshistory
With Hope in the Dark, Rebecca Solnit makes a radical case for hope as a commitment to act in a world whose future remains uncertain and unknowable. Drawing on her decades of activism and a wide reading of environmental, cultural, and political history, Solnit argues that radicals have a long, neglected history of transformative victories, that the...
This book is also recommended by
Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez
Becoming Ms. Burton
From Prison to Recovery to Leading the Fight for Incarcerated Women
by Susan Burton (Feb 11, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: biographylaw
One womans remarkable odyssey from tragedy to prison to recoveryand recognition as a leading figure in the national justice reform movementSusan Burtons world changed in an instant when her five-year-old son was killed by a van on their street in South Los Angeles. Consumed by grief and without access to professional help, Susan self-medicated, bec...
kaddish.com
A novel
by Nathan Englander (Mar 25, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: fiction
The Pulitzer finalist delivers his best work yet--a brilliant, streamlined comic novel, reminiscent of early Philip Roth and of his own most masterful stories, about a son's failure to say Kaddish for his fatherLarry is an atheist in a family of orthodox Memphis Jews. When his father dies, it is his responsibility as the surviving son to recite the...
Judas
by Amos Oz (Nov 20, 2017)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: fiction
Jerusalem, 1959. Shmuel Ash, a biblical scholar, is adrift in his young life when he finds work as a caregiver for a brilliant but cantankerous old man named Gershom Wald. There is, however, a third, mysterious presence in his new home. Atalia Abravanel, the daughter of a deceased Zionist leader, a beautiful woman in her forties, entrances young Sh...
What is the What
by Dave Eggers (Oct 08, 2007)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: fictionhistorical-fictionbiographyreference
From the bestselling author of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, What Is the What is the epic novel based on the life of Valentino Achak Deng who, along with thousands of other children the so-called Lost Boyswas forced to leave his village in Sudan at the age of seven and trek hundreds of miles by foot, pursued by militias, government bom...
A Tale of Love and Darkness
by Amos Oz (Oct 31, 2005)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: biographyunited-stateshistorymemoir
Tragic, comic, and utterly honest, A Tale of Love and Darkness is at once a family saga and a magical self-portrait of a writer who witnessed the birth of a nation and lived through its turbulent history.It is the story of a boy growing up in the war-torn Jerusalem of the forties and fifties, in a small apartment crowded with books in twelve langua...
Cloud Atlas
by David Mitchell (Aug 16, 2004)
Goodreads Rating
Tags: fictionhistorical-fictioncontemporaryscience-fiction
A postmodern visionary who is also a master of styles of genres, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian lore of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as...
Natalie Portman
Feb 20, 2008
It's one of the most beautiful, entertaining, challenging books—something that takes all your attention.      source
This book is also recommended by
Paul Chaloner