Read This Twice
HomePeopleNonfiction BooksFiction BooksMy Library 0Sign In

Ezra Klein

blogger
journalist

Recommended Books

Ezra Klein is an American journalist, blogger, and political commentator who co-founded Vox, where he is currently editor-at-large. He was previously a blogger and columnist for The Washington Post and an associate editor of The American Prospect. He has served as a contributor to Bloomberg News and MSNBC.
16 books on the list
Sort by
Best
Layout
The City We Became
A Novel (The Great Cities Trilogy (1))
by N. K. Jemisin (Mar 23, 2020)
Goodreads Rating
Five New Yorkers must come together in order to defend their city from an ancient evil in the first book of a stunning new series by Hugo award-winning and NYT bestselling author N. K. Jemisin.Every great city has a soul. Some are as ancient as myths, and others are as new and destructive as children. New York City? She's got six.But every city als...
Creativity, Inc.
Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
by Ed Catmull (Apr 07, 2014)
Goodreads Rating
Categories: BusinessNonfiction
“What does it mean to manage well?”From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a ma...
Ezra Klein
An amazing, amazing book.     source
This book is also recommended by
Mark ZuckerbergJason CalacanisDemis Hassabis
What It Takes
The Way to the White House
by Richard Ben Cramer (May 31, 1993)
Goodreads Rating
An American Iliad in the guise of contemporary political reportage, What It Takes penetrates the mystery at the heart of all presidential campaigns: How do presumably ordinary people acquire that mixture of ambition, stamina, and pure shamelessness that makes a true candidate? As he recounts the frenzied course of the 1988 presidential race -- and ...
Ezra Klein
Everybody should read it.     source
This book is also recommended by
Yashar Ali
Something Deeply Hidden
Quantum Worlds and the Emergence of Spacetime
by Sean Carroll (Sep 09, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
As you read these words, copies of you are being created. Sean Carroll, theoretical physicist and one of this worlds most celebrated writers on science, rewrites the history of 20th century physics. Already hailed as a masterpiece, Something Deeply Hidden shows for the first time that facing up to the essential puzzle of quantum mechanics utterly t...
This book is also recommended by
Joe RoganSean Carroll
Beyond Ideology
Politics, Principles, and Partisanship in the U. S. Senate
by Frances E. Lee (Nov 30, 2009)
Goodreads Rating
The congressional agenda, Frances Lee contends, includes many issues about which liberals and conservatives generally agree. Even over these matters, though, Democratic and Republican senators tend to fight with each other. What explains this discord? Beyond Ideology argues that many partisan battles are rooted in competition for power rather than ...
Ezra Klein
The book that is probably the most influential for me in thinking about how American politics really works.     source
How to Do Nothing
Resisting the Attention Economy
by Jenny Odell (Apr 08, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
This thrilling critique of the forces vying for our attention re-defines what we think of as productivity, shows us a new way to connect with our environment and reveals all that we’ve been too distracted to see about our selves and our world.When the technologies we use every day collapse our experiences into 24/7 availability, platforms for perso...
Predicting the Presidency
The Potential of Persuasive Leadership
by George C. Edwards III (Mar 21, 2016)
Goodreads Rating
Millions of Americans--including many experienced politicians--viewed Barack Obama through a prism of high expectations, based on a belief in the power of presidential persuasion. Yet many who were inspired by candidate Obama were disappointed in what he was able to accomplish once in the White House. They could not understand why he often was unab...
Ezra Klein
A series of books on presidential rhetoric. Those are books that are not the friendliest tours through American politics but they are the most information rich.     source
This Is How You Lose the Time War
by Amal El-Mohtar (Mar 16, 2020)
Goodreads Rating
Two time-traveling agents from warring futures, working their way through the past, begin to exchange letters—and fall in love in this thrilling and romantic book from award-winning authors Amal-El Mohtar and Max Gladstone.Among the ashes of a dying world, an agent of the Commandant finds a letter. It reads: Burn before reading. Thus begins an unli...
This book is also recommended by
Craig Newmark
Nothing to See Here
by Kevin Wilson (Oct 28, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Kevin Wilson’s best book yet—a moving and uproarious novel about a woman who finds meaning in her life when she begins caring for two children with remarkable and disturbing abilitiesLillian and Madison were unlikely roommates and yet inseparable friends at their elite boarding school. But then Lillian had to leave the school unexpectedly in the wa...
The Shallows
What the Internet Is Doing to Our Brains
by Nicholas Carr (Mar 02, 2020)
Goodreads Rating
Nicholas Carr’s bestseller The Shallows has become a foundational book in one of the most important debates of our time: As we enjoy the internet’s bounties, are we sacrificing our ability to read and think deeply? This 10th-anniversary edition includes a new afterword that brings the story up to date, with a deep examination of the cognitive and b...
This book is also recommended by
Barack Obama
Give People Money
How a Universal Basic Income Would End Poverty, Revolutionize Work, and Remake the World
by Annie Lowrey (Jul 08, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
A brilliantly reported, global look at universal basic income--a stipend given to every citizen--and why it might be necessary in an age of rising inequality, persistent poverty, and dazzling technology. Imagine if every month the government deposited $1,000 into your bank account, with nothing expected in return. It sounds crazy. But it has becom...
The Gamble
Choice and Chance in the 2012 Presidential Election - Updated Edition
by John Sides (Sep 06, 2014)
Goodreads Rating
A unique moneyball look at the 2012 U.S. presidential contest between Barack Obama and Mitt RomneyGame changer. We heard it so many times during the 2012 U.S. presidential election. But what actually made a difference in the contest--and what was just hype? In this groundbreaking book, John Sides and Lynn Vavreck tell the dramatic story of the elec...
Ezra Klein
A series of political scientists on the 2012 election I think is really helpful.     source
Why the Electoral College Is Bad for America
by George C. Edwards III (Jul 10, 2004)
Goodreads Rating
Americans currently choose their president through the electoral college, an extraordinarily complex mechanism that may elect a candidate who does not receive the most votes. In this provocative book, George Edwards III argues that—contrary to what supporters of the electoral college claim—there is no real justification for a system that might viol...
Ezra Klein
A series of books on presidential rhetoric. Those are books that are not the friendliest tours through American politics but they are the most information rich.     source
The Polarized Presidency of George W. Bush
by George C Edwards III (Jul 18, 2007)
Goodreads Rating
This collection examines the foreign and domestic policies of President George W Bush's administration. The analysis begins with an account of how highly polarized--in terms of public opinion and electoral patterns--this presidency has proved to be. This is followed by chapters on the use of unilateral executive powers and pre-rogative powers. Beca...
Ezra Klein
A series of books on presidential rhetoric. Those are books that are not the friendliest tours through American politics but they are the most information rich.     source
On Deaf Ears
The Limits of the Bully Pulpit
by George C. Edwards III (May 09, 2006)
Goodreads Rating
The typical legislative strategy for recent presidents has been to move Congress by winning public support.  George Edwards analyzes hundreds of public opinion polls and finds that this strategy usually fails.  He explains why presidents are frequently unable to move public opinion and suggests they use other means to achieve legislative success."T...
Ezra Klein
A series of books on presidential rhetoric. Those are books that are not the friendliest tours through American politics but they are the most information rich.     source
Overreach
Leadership in the Obama Presidency
by George C. Edwards III (Mar 24, 2012)
Goodreads Rating
When Barack Obama became president, many Americans embraced him as a transformational leader who would fundamentally change the politics and policy of the country. Yet, two years into his administration, the public resisted his calls for support and Congress was deadlocked over many of his major policy proposals. How could this capable new presiden...
Ezra Klein
A series of books on presidential rhetoric. Those are books that are not the friendliest tours through American politics but they are the most information rich.     source